facebook

We welcome applications from students in many disciplines – learn more about our main research areas.

University-wide Research Centres

Bath Business School

The Bath Business School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Business and Management
  • Finance and Accounting
  • Strategy and Enterprise
  • Hotel Management
  • International Business
  • Human Resource Management

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for Bath Business School, Mark Loon.

Bath School of Art and Design

Art

The Art School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

Design

The Design School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for the Bath School of Art and Design, Robin Marriner (r.marriner@bathspa.ac.uk)

College of Liberal Arts

Culture and Environment

The Field of Culture and Environment welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Biology
  • English
  • Environmental Studies
  • Food Science
  • Global Development
  • Geography
  • History and Heritage
  • Psychology
  • Religion and Philosophy
  • Sociology and Criminology

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for Culture and Environment, Alison Lee. For Heritage contact Alison Hems (a.hems@bathspa.ac.uk, +44 (0)1225 876363) and for History contact Astrid Swenson (a.swenson@bathspa.ac.uk, +44 (0)1225 876032).

Writing and Performance

The Field of Writing and Performance welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Acting
  • Arts Management
  • Music
  • Theatre Production
  • Creative Writing
  • Commercial Music
  • Drama
  • Dance

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for PerformanceAmanda Bayley, or for Creative Writing, Tracy Brain.

Digital Academy

The Field of Writing, Performance and Production welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Creative Computing
  • Creative Music Technology
  • Publishing
  • Media
  • Film and TV
  • Creative Media Practice

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for the Digital Academy, Ben Ramsey.

Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

Institute for Education

Philosophy of Education

Dr Howard Gibson (h.gibson@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Darren Garside (d.garside@bathspa.ac.uk)

Science Education

Dr Kendra McMahon (k.mcmahon@bathspa.ac.uk)

Learning Technology

Dr Dana Ruggiero (d.ruggiero@bathspa.ac.uk)

Leadership and Management

Dr Nick Sorensen (n.sorensen@bathspa.ac.uk)

Teacher Education

Professor Geoff Whitty (g.whitty@bathspa.ac.uk)

International Education

Dr Graham Downes (g.downes@bathspa.ac.uk)

Secondary Maths Education

Dr Nicholas Peatfield (n.peatfield@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Sarah Wilton-Rhead (s.wilton-rhead@bathspa.ac.uk)

Education and Policy

Dr Kate Reynolds (k.reynolds@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Richard Riddell (r.riddell@bathspa.ac.uk)

Inclusion and Vulnerable learners

Dr Ghazala Bhatti (g.bhatti@bathspa.ac.uk)

Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for the Institute for Education, Dr Mary Stakelum (m.stakelum@bathspa.ac.uk)

Edit section | Website feedback to web@bathspa.ac.uk